This particular holiday, annoys the fuck outta me.
No, it's not because I'm single. It's not because I'm bitter and envious. And it's not because I'm cold hearted and loveless (though that is my nickname!).
It's because some GIRLS just kill me - they infuriate me.
I always hear girls ranting, and complaining and shit about Valentine's Day.
"My boyfriend better have something amazing planned!" and / or
"We better being going somewhere fancy!" and / or
"He better have gotten me a ton of stuff!" and / or
"My present better be amazing!" and / or
"I better be getting spoiled!" and / or
"My boyfriend's going to be in so much shit if he doesn't make this day amazing! We'll totally be done."
Blah blah blah - want want want - expect expect expect. SHUT UP!
For the love of God, ladies, stop being so selfish. There is no rule to a relationship that Valentine's Day even has to be celebrated. Sure, it's usually the norm, and yeah...it usually is a big thing. But think about it. He has no obligation to do anything extraordinary for you at all.
That's what Valentine's Day is to little girls nowadays. A day where they expect extravagant gifts, pricey dates, fancy dinners, tons of gifts, etc. from their boyfriend. A day where girls expect to be spoiled, showered with disgustingly mushy affection and treated like they're absolutely perfect and worthy of the world. (Keep in mind, that these relationships typically last about a few months....until the lady finds the new "love of her life" for the following year's Valentine's Day.)
Valentine's Day was originally started by the Catholics, in honor of Saint Valentine (for feasting). It was meant to be a gesture of love to your special 'someone', whether it be husband and wife or boyfriend and girlfriend, or a person to their crush.
Now, Valentine's Day, has been turned into some corporate advertisement for over-priced gifts, candy companies, flower companies and card companies such as Hallmark. It's become a day of high expectations, selfishness (in woman), greed and debt (to men, who have greedy, materialistic, crybaby women).
First of all, if you're not receiving some type of affection from your significant other year round, indicating that they truly do care about you, and have feelings for you...there's a problem there. Most likely, you're being used for some reason or another. If your man really loves you, you'll know it, and he'll show it year round. Not just one day each year. Sure, it'd be sweet to do something nice together on Valentine's Day. But as for expecting lavish gifts? No. If it's true love - be content with it. That should be enough, because it's something most people lack - so appreciate it.
Second of all, explain to me why it's fair for you to have high expectations of your boyfriend on this holiday? Why does he have to spoil you? Sure, chicks are the "delicate" one in the relationship - and yes, it is easier to do things for woman on this particular holiday. But honestly, I never hear about girls doing cute little things for their boyfriends on Valentine's Day. But every year, I get asked by guys that I know, "Valentine's Day is coming up! What do I do?" or "Oh my God! What do I get Sally for Valentine's Day...she's going to flip if it's not good!"
Every single year I hear guys stressing about what to do for their girlfriends - what to get them, where to take them, what to plan, what to wear on their date with them, etc. It's ridiculous.
Out of all those, the only thing I ever hear girls stressing about is, "What do I wear on the fancy date that Jim better be taking me on?"
Girls are just sketchy little creatures. I'm sick of listening to complaints every year, "Ahmygawd, Jim only got me a dozen roses, a card, and candy! Then he paid for dinner! WTF?"
Seriously, good luck in future relationships, moron.
Point is, girls have too high of expectations for their boyfriends. It's not fair.
And I don't want anyone saying that there's nothing you can really do for a boy, other than wearing skimpy lingerie and putting out. Because that's false - and if that's what he wants then he's a total skeeze.
There's plenty of cute things you can do for him, just put some thought and some heart into it. That's all that it really takes.
Material things aren't what really matters in relationships. No matter what you hear and see.
Diamond earrings aren't going to look you in the eyes, then whisper "I love you". They're not going to provide loving embraces, or comfort when you need it.
Sure, they probably look a little cuter with some of your outfits...but, that's not important.
Real love supercedes everything - be happy with that.
Give as much as you take...and stop being greedy girls, it's unattractive.
Anyways...I'm done now.
Stay in love - fall in touch. <3
ONE FOUR THREE.
Labels: boys presents, candy, couples, cry, date, dating, flowers, gifts, girls, hearts, love, relationships, selfish, spoiled, valentine, valentine's day


posted by LyssaLoveless at 6:52 PM